Meena Kandasamy & Preti Taneja on Jhalak Book Prize longlist

We're so excited to share that two DGA authors have been revealed to be on the longlist for the 2018 Jhalak Prize for Book of the Year by a Writer of Colour. Meena Kandasamy's When I Hit You: Or, A Portrait of the Writer as a Young Wife (Atlantic) and Preti Taneja's We That Are Young (Galley Beggar Press) have made the list of 12 titles, which covers a variety of genres. 

Sunny Singh, the prize co-founder and panel chair commented: “The last few months have been an incredible journey through beautifully crafted, intellectually challenging and emotionally rich books. The longlist demonstrates the extraordinary range of themes, ideas and forms from British writers of colour. We have whittled down our favourites to 12 books for the longlist with much difficulty and am not sure how we will ever arrive at a shortlist, far less a winner.”

Judge Vera Chok added: “An incredible thing about the Jhalak Prize is that it’s open across genres. I’ve been especially delighted to discover writers of colour beyond literary fiction and memoir, making their mark in the fields of non-fiction, children’s writing, and experimental forms.”

In 2018 the all-woman judging panel includes writer Sunny Singh, YA author Catherine Johnson, novelist Tanya Byrne, writer and performer Vera Chok and travel writer and journalist Noo Saro-Wiwa.

The shortlist will be announced on 20th of February, 2018 and the winner will be announced on 15th of March, 2018.

Congratulations to Preti and Meena!