Omar Robert Hamilton wins Betty Trask Prize

City PB.jpg

We are thrilled to share that Omar Robert Hamilton has won the Betty Trask Prize for a first novel by a writer under 35 for his book, The City Always Wins, which was published by Faber & Faber last summer.

Hosted by Stephen Fry and with an introduction by the president of the Society of Authors, Philip Pullman, eight awards were presented to 31 writers. Among the winners were host of debut names along with recognised writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry to share a prize fund of £98,000.

The ceremony, which took place on Thursday (19th July) at the Royal Institute of British Architects, saw over 400 guests from across the publishing industry come together as the winners of the Betty Trask, McKitterick, Tom-Gallon Trust and Somerset Maugham awards were revealed in addition to the Cholmondeley Awards for outstanding contribution to poetry, the Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography, five Travelling Scholarships and the Eric Gregory Award for a collection of poems by poets under 30.

Omar was awarded £10,000 for "a furious, frenetic novel that captures a pivotal moment in history. It conjures the whispers and screams, from the Cairo streets and the homes of a city unravelling, as its residents battle through their grief", according to the judges.

Congratulations, Omar! Don't forget to pick up a copy of his incredible book here, today.